Linux – Ubuntu Installer can’t find my SATA Drive

Ubuntu Installer can not find my SATA drive: I recently experienced a problem installing Ubuntu on a particular computer. Ubuntu's Ubiquity Installer could not detect my SATA drive, although sudo fdisk -l found the drive just fine, and the drive also appeared in gparted.

As it turns out, the SATA drive had left over raid configuration information that was telling the installer to skip the drive (as if it was unsupported).

In the following [gs tutorial], I will show you what I did to get Ubuntu to detect the SATA drive, so that I could proceed and install Ubuntu.

How I made Ubuntu Installer detect my SATA drive

  1. Boot Ubuntu from a Live CD or Live USB
  2. Open a Terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal) and type sudo su
  3. Type fdisk -l (note which device is your SATA drive)
  4. Type:
dmraid -E -r /dev/sdX

(Replacing X with your actual device found in step 3)

  1. Confirm that yes, you wish to remove the dmraid information;
  2. Return to the [gs desktop] and proceed to run the Ubuntu Installer;

If all goes well, the Installer should now detect your SATA drive and allow you to install Ubuntu to the SATA disk as usual.

SOURCE

LINK (Pendrivelinux.com)

LANGUAGE
ENGLISH