How Does Instant Messaging Work?

To conduct a conversation using instant messaging, you first need to install a compatible instant messaging program on your computer. Then, the person you wish to chat to must do the same on his or her computer.
There are several different types of IM program available on the internet, but while they all do the same job, IM software from one company is generally not compatible with IM software from another company.

So, for example, a user who installs Windows Live Messenger will not be able to communicate with a user who is using AOL instant messenger, although there is nothing to stop you installing more than one IM program onto your computer.

During the installation of your chosen IM software, you will be required to set up a screen name, or number. Now all you need to do is exchange this name/number with your . Once you have done that and entered your friends details into your IM software, you will be able to communicate. Typically, IM software requires a central server which relays messages between clients.

It is worth remembering that most IM software does not include any encryption by default and it is not a good idea to send sensitive information by IM without encrypting it first.

18 thoughts on “How Does Instant Messaging Work?”

  1. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  2. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  3. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  4. I am commenting to let you know what a brilliant encounter my friend’s child had reading your webblog. She picked up some pieces, with the inclusion of what it’s like to have a wonderful teaching spirit to let the others with no trouble comprehend several multifaceted things. You actually surpassed readers’ expectations. Thanks for delivering these warm and friendly, trustworthy, edifying and as well as easy tips on this topic to Mary.

  5. Thanks for another great post. Where else could anyone get that type of info in such a perfect way of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such info.

  6. You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  7. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  8. Someone essentially help to make seriously posts I would state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular publish amazing. Wonderful job!

  9. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  10. I think this is one of the most significant info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  11. I precisely had to appreciate you once again. I am not sure the things I could possibly have used without these points discussed by you concerning this topic. It truly was the alarming issue in my view, however , taking note of this expert avenue you treated it forced me to cry for gladness. Now i’m happier for the information and thus sincerely hope you are aware of an amazing job you are always accomplishing instructing many people by way of your website. I am sure you have never got to know all of us.

Comments are closed.